Marché des films agricoles en Afrique – Croissance, tendances, impact du COVID-19 et prévisions (2022-2027)

Le marché des films agricoles en Afrique est segmenté par type (polyéthylène basse densité, polyéthylène basse densité linéaire, polyéthylène haute densité, acétate de vinyle éthylique (EVA) / acrylate de butyle éthylène (EBA), récupérations, autres films), application (serre, ensilage, paillage) et géographie (Afrique du Sud, Maroc, Égypte et reste de l'Afrique). Le rapport propose une estimation du marché et des prévisions en valeur (millions USD) et en volume (tonne métrique) pour les segments susmentionnés.

Aperçu du marché

africa agricultural films market
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 4 %

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Aperçu du marché

Le marché des films agricoles africains devrait connaître un TCAC de 4,0 % au cours de la période de prévision (2022-2027). La pandémie de COVID-19 a perturbé le fonctionnement de plusieurs marchés, dont celui des films agricoles dans la région. La pandémie a affecté le processus de fabrication et les réseaux de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, entraînant des pertes pour les entreprises et les serriculteurs. Cela a entraîné des retards dans les projets d'investissement des clients en 2020, ce qui a entraîné une forte baisse des prises de commandes de projets de serre par rapport à 2019. Les entreprises dépendantes de certains composants pour fabriquer leurs produits importés d'autres pays et la pénurie de production dans leurs pays importateurs à l'époque de COVID-19 avait gravement affecté la demande du marché.

Les films agricoles sont traités comme une application moderne utilisée dans de nombreuses pratiques agricoles innovantes. L'accent mis sur l'amélioration de la productivité agricole face à la diminution des terres agricoles et à l'augmentation de la population sont les principales raisons de la commercialisation de ce produit de spécialité. La popularité de l'agriculture sous serre et des pratiques agricoles modernes nécessite l'utilisation de films agricoles dans la région. 

Le polyéthylène linéaire basse densité (LLDPE) domine le marché par type. Le LLDPE présente d'excellentes propriétés mécaniques pour couvrir les cultures linéaires, telles que la pastèque, le melon et les tomates, sous des tunnels bas. L'innovation de produits qui comprend le blocage des ultraviolets (UV), le blocage NIR, les films fluorescents et ultra-thermiques aiderait le marché à pénétrer davantage au cours de la période de prévision. 

Le paillage est l'une des applications dans lesquelles les films agricoles sont largement utilisés. Étant donné que la majeure partie de la superficie cultivée était en culture libre, le paillage du sol à l'aide de films est devenu une pratique courante dans le monde. De vastes bandes de la superficie consacrée aux légumes de serre et l'accent croissant mis sur la culture de fruits et légumes à haute valeur et orientée vers l'exportation sont le moteur du marché des films agricoles en Afrique. 

La demande de systèmes de productions horticoles protégés va augmenter dans les années à venir en Afrique. Le changement climatique, l'urbanisation et une production plus professionnelle sont des processus sous-jacents. Les serres en Afrique du Sud produisent à la fois des fleurs et des (fruits) légumes, et les serres au Ghana produisent principalement des tomates et quelques autres légumes pour le marché local. Par conséquent, l'expansion de la culture de fruits et légumes par la méthode de serre en Afrique devrait stimuler davantage le marché des films agricoles à l'avenir. Par conséquent, avec l'adoption de nouvelles technologies de production, les films agricoles gagnent en popularité, stimulant ainsi la croissance du marché.

Scope of the report

Agricultural films or plastics are used in many innovative agricultural practices to increase the crop output per hectare while enhancing crop quality. Agricultural films are used extensively for soil protection, greenhouse farming, and mulching. The Africa Agricultural Films Market is Segmented by Type(Low-Density Polyethylene, Linear Low-Density Polyethylene, High-Density Polyethylene, Ethyl Vinyl Acetate (EVA)/Ethylene Butyl Acrylate (EBA), Reclaims, Other Films), Application (Greenhouse, Silage, Mulching) and Geography (South Africa, Morocco, Egypt, and Rest of Africa). The report offers market estimation and forecast in value (USD million) and volume (metric ton) for the above-mentioned segments.

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Principales tendances du marché

Augmentation de la demande alimentaire et besoin d'une productivité alimentaire agricole accrue

Selon la FAO, la population africaine devrait augmenter entre 2009 et 2050. Dans le même temps, le revenu par habitant devrait également augmenter dans toute l'Afrique. Avec l'augmentation du revenu par habitant et la croissance démographique, la demande alimentaire devrait également augmenter. Par exemple, selon la FAO, la demande alimentaire en Afrique devrait augmenter de 20 % à 60 % d'ici 2050. De nombreux facteurs tels que le changement climatique, l'épidémie de ravageurs et le manque d'investissements rendent difficile la production de suffisamment de nourriture. .​ 

En raison de l'augmentation de la population, la production alimentaire africaine doit augmenter de plus de 15 %, d'ici 2050, pour répondre à la demande alimentaire croissante. Cela implique qu'il doit y avoir une augmentation significative de la production de certains produits alimentaires. Par exemple, la production de céréales doit atteindre environ 0,5 milliard de tonnes métriques d'ici 2050, contre près de 0,2 milliard de tonnes métriques en 2018. Il y a aussi une diminution des terres arables dans toute l'Afrique. Selon un rapport de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO), en Afrique, les terres arables sont passées de 387,9 millions d'hectares du total des terres en 2014 à 319,2 millions d'hectares en 2018, et on estime qu'elles diminueront encore dans un avenir proche. La superficie des légumes primaires récoltés en 2020 est passée à 10 218,3 milliers d'hectares avec une productivité atteignant 83,

Par conséquent, pour répondre à la demande alimentaire croissante dans le pays, la production de cultures, telles que les céréales et les légumineuses, doit augmenter malgré la disponibilité limitée de terres arables. Les agriculteurs se concentrent sur l'augmentation de la production, en faisant pousser les cultures dans diverses techniques avancées, y compris les serres. Cela a poussé la demande d'utilisation de films agricoles en Afrique. En raison des facteurs ci-dessus, associés à la diminution des terres arables, le marché des films agricoles offre un avantage concurrentiel par rapport aux autres marchés.

Africa Agricultural Films Market

L'application dans les serres domine le marché

L'essor croissant de l'agriculture durable en raison de l'urbanisation croissante est l'un des facteurs importants qui pourraient aider le film de serre à se développer au cours de la période de prévision en Afrique. Les films de paillage sont utilisés pour protéger la culture de la prolifération des mauvaises herbes. Ils préviennent également la perte d'humidité et améliorent le rendement des cultures. Ces facteurs peuvent être avantageux dans les régions sèches d'Afrique, offrant des opportunités de croissance aux acteurs du marché du film de paillage.

Il y a une diminution constante des terres arables et un besoin croissant d'améliorer la productivité des cultures. De plus, l'expansion démographique mondiale et l'augmentation subséquente de la demande alimentaire entraînent une croissance durable de l'industrie agricole mondiale. Ces facteurs peuvent contribuer à augmenter la demande de films de paillage sur le marché, car ils améliorent la qualité des cultures et favorisent la rétention d'eau.

Le film protège les cultures et le sol des intempéries. De plus, les préoccupations environnementales croissantes devraient augmenter l'utilisation de films de paillis biodégradables en Afrique. Le paillage fait partie de l'agriculture de conservation, qui améliore la production alimentaire dans les systèmes agricoles des petits exploitants en Afrique. Les tomates et les oignons, les légumes les plus répandus, poussent en grande quantité le long des côtes d'Afrique du Nord, où le paillage peut être pratiqué. Ces avantages devraient stimuler l'utilisation des films de paillage en Afrique.

Africa Agricultural Films Market

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché africain des films agricoles est très fragmenté, les principaux acteurs occupant environ 12,8 % de part de marché. Berry Global Inc. domine le marché, suivi de Rhino Plastics (Pty) Ltd, Gundle Plastics Group (Pty) Ltd, Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd et Trioworld.

Ces acteurs majeurs investissent dans de nouveaux produits et improvisent des produits, des extensions et des acquisitions pour les expansions commerciales. Un autre domaine d'investissement majeur est l'accent mis sur la R&D pour lancer de nouveaux produits à des prix inférieurs.

Paysage concurrentiel

Le marché africain des films agricoles est très fragmenté, les principaux acteurs occupant environ 12,8 % de part de marché. Berry Global Inc. domine le marché, suivi de Rhino Plastics (Pty) Ltd, Gundle Plastics Group (Pty) Ltd, Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd et Trioworld.

Ces acteurs majeurs investissent dans de nouveaux produits et improvisent des produits, des extensions et des acquisitions pour les expansions commerciales. Un autre domaine d'investissement majeur est l'accent mis sur la R&D pour lancer de nouveaux produits à des prix inférieurs.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Hypothèses de l'étude et définition du marché

      1. 1.2 Portée de l'étude

      2. 2. MÉTHODOLOGIE DE RECHERCHE

        1. 3. RÉSUMÉ

          1. 4. DYNAMIQUE DU MARCHÉ

            1. 4.1 Aperçu du marché

              1. 4.2 Facteurs de marché

                1. 4.3 Contraintes du marché

                  1. 4.4 Analyse des cinq forces de Porter

                    1. 4.4.1 Pouvoir de négociation des fournisseurs

                      1. 4.4.2 Le pouvoir de négociation des acheteurs

                        1. 4.4.3 La menace de nouveaux participants

                          1. 4.4.4 Menace des produits de substitution

                            1. 4.4.5 Intensité de la rivalité concurrentielle

                          2. 5. SEGMENTATION DU MARCHÉ

                            1. 5.1 Taper

                              1. 5.1.1 Polyéthylène basse densité

                                1. 5.1.2 Polyéthylène basse densité linéaire

                                  1. 5.1.3 Polyéthylène de haute densité

                                    1. 5.1.4 Acétate d'éthyle et de vinyle (EVA)/acrylate de butyle et d'éthylène (EBA)

                                      1. 5.1.5 Récupération

                                        1. 5.1.6 Autres films

                                        2. 5.2 Application

                                          1. 5.2.1 Ensilage

                                            1. 5.2.2 Paillage

                                              1. 5.2.3 Serre

                                              2. 5.3 Géographie

                                                1. 5.3.1 Afrique du Sud

                                                  1. 5.3.2 Maroc

                                                    1. 5.3.3 Egypte

                                                      1. 5.3.4 Reste de l'Afrique

                                                    2. 6. PAYSAGE CONCURRENTIEL

                                                      1. 6.1 Stratégies les plus adoptées

                                                        1. 6.2 Analyse des parts de marché

                                                          1. 6.3 Profils d'entreprise

                                                            1. 6.3.1 Baie Global Inc.

                                                              1. 6.3.2 Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd

                                                                1. 6.3.3 Groupe INDEVCO (Société de développement industriel)

                                                                  1. 6.3.4 BASF SE

                                                                    1. 6.3.5 Gundle Plastics Group (PTY) Ltd

                                                                      1. 6.3.6 Groupe Armando Alvarez

                                                                        1. 6.3.7 Triomonde

                                                                      2. 7. OPPORTUNITÉS DE MARCHÉ ET TENDANCES FUTURES

                                                                        1. 8. UNE ÉVALUATION SUR L'IMPACT DU COVID-19

                                                                          You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

                                                                          Frequently Asked Questions

                                                                          Le marché du marché des films agricoles en Afrique est étudié de 2017 à 2027.

                                                                          Le marché des films agricoles en Afrique croît à un TCAC de 4 % au cours des 5 prochaines années.

                                                                          Berry Global Inc., Rhino Plastics (Pty) Ltd, Gundle Plastics Group (Pty) Ltd, Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd, Trioworld sont les principales sociétés opérant sur le marché africain des films agricoles.

                                                                          80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

                                                                          Please enter a valid email id!

                                                                          Please enter a valid message!

Africa Agricultural Films Market - Growth, Trends, COVID-19 Impact, and Forecasts (2022 - 2027)

The Africa Agricultural Films Market is Segmented by Type(Low-Density Polyethylene, Linear Low-Density Polyethylene, High-Density Polyethylene, Ethyl Vinyl Acetate (EVA)/Ethylene Butyl Acrylate (EBA), Reclaims, Other Films), Application (Greenhouse, Silage, Mulching) and Geography (South Africa, Morocco, Egypt, and Rest of Africa). The report offers market estimation and forecast in value (USD million) and volume (metric ton) for the above-mentioned segments.

Market Snapshot

Africa Agricultural Films Market Overview
Study Period: 2017-2027
Base Year: 2021
CAGR: 4 %
Africa Agricultural Films Market Key Players

Need a report that reflects how COVID-19 has impacted this market and its growth?

Market Overview

The African Agricultural Films Market is projected to witness a CAGR of 4.0% during the forecast period (2022-2027). The COVID-19 pandemic disrupted the working of several markets, including the agricultural films market in the region. The pandemic affected the manufacturing process and supply chain networks, resulting in losses for companies and greenhouse producers. It caused delays in customers’ investment projects in 2020, which led to a large decrease in order intake of greenhouse projects compared to 2019. The companies dependent on certain components for producing their products imported from other countries and the production shortage in their importing nations at the time of COVID-19 had severely impacted the market demand.

Agricultural films are treated like a modern-day application used in many innovative agricultural practices. Focus on the improvement of agricultural productivity in the advent of shrinking farmland and expanding population are the main reasons behind the commercialization of this specialty product. The popularity of greenhouse agriculture and modern-day farming practices necessitates the use of agricultural films in the region. 

The linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE) dominates the market by type. LLDPE exhibits excellent mechanical properties for covering linear cultivations, such as watermelon, melon, and tomatoes, under low tunnels. Product innovation that includes ultraviolet (UV) blocking, NIR blocking, fluorescent and ultra-thermic films would help the market to penetrate further over the forecast period. 

Mulching is one of the applications in which agricultural films are widely used. Since most of the area under agriculture was open cultivation, mulching the soil using films has become a common practice globally. Large strips of the area under greenhouse vegetables and a growing emphasis on high value and export-oriented cultivation of fruits and vegetables are driving the market for agricultural films in Africa. 

The demand for protected horticultural productions systems will increase over the coming years in Africa. Climate change, urbanization and a more professional production are underlying processes. Greenhouses in South Africa produce both flowers and (fruit) vegetables, and greenhouses in Ghana mainly produce tomatoes and some other vegetables for the local market. Therefore, the expanding cultivation of fruits and vegetables by the greenhouse method in Africa is expected to drive the market for agricultural films further in the future. Therefore, with the adoption of newer production technologies, agricultural films are gaining popularity thus, driving market growth.

Scope of the report

Agricultural films or plastics are used in many innovative agricultural practices to increase the crop output per hectare while enhancing crop quality. Agricultural films are used extensively for soil protection, greenhouse farming, and mulching. The Africa Agricultural Films Market is Segmented by Type(Low-Density Polyethylene, Linear Low-Density Polyethylene, High-Density Polyethylene, Ethyl Vinyl Acetate (EVA)/Ethylene Butyl Acrylate (EBA), Reclaims, Other Films), Application (Greenhouse, Silage, Mulching) and Geography (South Africa, Morocco, Egypt, and Rest of Africa). The report offers market estimation and forecast in value (USD million) and volume (metric ton) for the above-mentioned segments.

Type
Low-Density Polyethylene
Linear Low-Density Polyethylene
High-Density Polyethylene
Ethyl Vinyl Acetate (EVA)/Ethylene Butyl Acrylate (EBA)
Reclaims
Other Films
Application
Silage
Mulching
Greenhouse
Geography
South Africa
Morocco
Egypt
Rest of Africa

Report scope can be customized per your requirements. Click here.

Key Market Trends

Increased Food Demand and Need for Increased Agricultural Food Productivity

According to FAO, the African population is expected to grow, between 2009 and 2050. At the same time, per capita income is also projected to grow across Africa. With the increasing per capita income and growing population, the demand for food is also estimated to grow. For instance, as per FAO, the food demand in Africa is expected to increase by 20% to 60% by 2050. Many factors such as climate change, the outbreak of pests, and the lack of investments, make it challenging to produce enough food.​ 

Due to the increasing population, African food production needs to increase by more than 15%, by 2050, to meet the growing food demand. This implies that there has to be a significant increase in the production of certain food commodities. For instance, the production of cereals must reach around 0.5 billion metric ton by 2050, an increase from nearly 0.2 billion metric ton, in 2018. ​ There is also a decline in arable land all across Africa. According to a report by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO), in Africa, the arable land decreased from 387.9 million hectares of the total land in 2014 to 319.2 million hectares in 2018, and it is estimated to decrease further in the near future. Primary vegetables area harvested in 2020 increased to 10,218.3 thousand hectares with productivity reaching 83,331 hg per hectare as compared to harvsted area of 10,022.3 thousand hectares with 82,785 hg paer hectares of yield in 2019.

Hence, to meet the increasing food demand in the country, the production of crops, such as cereals and pulses, needs to increase despite the limited availability of arable land. ​ Farmers are focusing on increasing the production, by growing the crops in various advanced techniques including greenhouses. This has pushed the demand for agriculture film usage in Africa. Owing to the above factors coupled with the decreasing arable land is providing a competitive advantage for the agricultural films market when compared to the other markets

Africa Agricultural Films Market Share

Application in Greenhouses dominates the market

The growing rise of sustainable farming due to rising urbanization is one of the important factors that might help the greenhouse film grow during the forecast period in Africa. Mulch films are used to protect the crop from the proliferation of weeds. They also prevent moisture loss and improve crop yield. These factors can be advantageous in the dry parts of Africa, offering growth opportunities to players in the mulch film market.

There is a constant decline in arable land and a growing need to improve crop productivity. Moreover, the world’s expanding population and the subsequent increase in food demand are driving sustainable growth in the global agriculture industry. These factors can help increase the demand for mulch films in the market, as they improve crop quality and aid water retention.

The film protects the crops and the soil from adverse weather conditions. Additionally, the growing environmental concerns are projected to increase the usage of biodegradable mulch films in Africa. Mulching is a part of conservation agriculture, which improves food production in smallholder farming systems in Africa. Tomatoes and onions, the most common vegetables, grow in large quantities along the coast of North Africa, where mulching can be practiced. These advantages are anticipated to boost the usage of mulch films in Africa.

Africa Agricultural Films Market Growth

Competitive Landscape

The African agricultural films market is highly fragmented, where the prominent players occupy around 12.8% of the market share. Berry Global Inc., dominates the market, followed by Rhino Plastics (Pty) Ltd, Gundle Plastics Group (Pty) Ltd, Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd, and Trioworld.

These major players are investing in new products and improvisation of products, expansions, and acquisitions for business expansions. Another major area of investment is the focus on R&D to launch new products at lower prices.

Recent Developments

In July 2021, Trioworld introduced a new mantle film or net replacement film product which compresses the bale before wrapping. This new product is also made from PCR material. These new products opened opportunities for an increased circularity and less impact on the environment. This strengthened the company’s portfolio in the global market, including Africa.

In August 2019, BASF SE launched Ecovio M 2351, a certified soil-biodegradable mulch film. Mulch films made of Ecovio can lead to an increased tomato yield from 15 to 50%, less water consumption, and better weed control. This has helped the company in increasing its product quality in the market as well as expanding its reach in the region.

In July 2019, Berry Global Group Inc. acquired RPC Group Plc (RPC), one of Europe's largest suppliers of plastic packaging, for a purchase price of approximately USD 6.5 billion. This acquisition made a combined global footprint of over 290 locations worldwide, including Africa, Asia, and Australia.

Table of Contents

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION

    1. 1.1 Study Assumptions and Market Definition

    2. 1.2 Scope of the Study

  2. 2. RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

  3. 3. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

  4. 4. MARKET DYNAMICS

    1. 4.1 Market Overview

    2. 4.2 Market Drivers

    3. 4.3 Market Restraints

    4. 4.4 Porter's Five Force Analysis

      1. 4.4.1 Bargaining Power of Suppliers

      2. 4.4.2 Bargaining Power of Buyers

      3. 4.4.3 Threat of New Entrants

      4. 4.4.4 Threat of Substitute Products

      5. 4.4.5 Intensity of Competitive Rivalry

  5. 5. MARKET SEGMENTATION

    1. 5.1 Type

      1. 5.1.1 Low-Density Polyethylene

      2. 5.1.2 Linear Low-Density Polyethylene

      3. 5.1.3 High-Density Polyethylene

      4. 5.1.4 Ethyl Vinyl Acetate (EVA)/Ethylene Butyl Acrylate (EBA)

      5. 5.1.5 Reclaims

      6. 5.1.6 Other Films

    2. 5.2 Application

      1. 5.2.1 Silage

      2. 5.2.2 Mulching

      3. 5.2.3 Greenhouse

    3. 5.3 Geography

      1. 5.3.1 South Africa

      2. 5.3.2 Morocco

      3. 5.3.3 Egypt

      4. 5.3.4 Rest of Africa

  6. 6. COMPETITIVE LANDSCAPE

    1. 6.1 Most Adopted Strategies

    2. 6.2 Market Share Analysis

    3. 6.3 Company Profiles

      1. 6.3.1 Berry Global Inc.

      2. 6.3.2 Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd

      3. 6.3.3 INDEVCO (Industrial Development Company) Group

      4. 6.3.4 BASF SE

      5. 6.3.5 Gundle Plastics Group (PTY) Ltd

      6. 6.3.6 Grupo Armando Alvarez

      7. 6.3.7 Trioworld

  7. 7. MARKET OPPORTUNITIES AND FUTURE TRENDS

  8. 8. AN ASSESSMENT ON THE IMPACT OF COVID-19

You can also purchase parts of this report. Do you want to check out a section wise price list?

Frequently Asked Questions

The Africa Agricultural Films Market market is studied from 2017 - 2027.

The Africa Agricultural Films Market is growing at a CAGR of 4% over the next 5 years.

Berry Global Inc., Rhino Plastics (Pty) Ltd, Gundle Plastics Group (Pty) Ltd, Ginegar Plastic Products Ltd, Trioworld are the major companies operating in Africa Agricultural Films Market.

80% of our clients seek made-to-order reports. How do you want us to tailor yours?

Please enter a valid email id!

Please enter a valid message!